The Armstrong County Museum's
Gem Theatre Presents...

September 1 thru November 8, 2014 -- Chuck Waggon Dinner with the Band and Show
For the rest of the season, enjoy a great meal at 6:00 PM with the Texas Touring Artist Band and then attend the show at 7:30 PM. Catering provided by Trail Boss and Crave of Amarillo. Dinner and show $25.00 students $18.00 Show only $10.00 adults $3.00 Kids K-12. Groups rates available. Tickets available by calling 806-226-2187.

October 4, 2014 -- From Bandera, Texas The Almost Patsey Cline Band, A TCA Touring Artist Production
The Almost Patsy Cline Band is known for preserving country music’s past with stirring, heartfelt renditions and stories about the best of yesteryear like Patsy Cline, Bob Wills, Johnny Cash, Ray Price, Mel Tillis, Merle Haggard, Connie Smith, and other superstars of the Opry. This talented five-piece group could just as easily have been named for ''almost'' any country and western star of the '40s, '50s, 6'0s, or '70s because they showcase hits from all of them. Bandera's award winning Official Goodwill Ambassadors have been filling theaters and dance floors throughout Texas since 2001. ''Timeless Tunes: The Stories and the Songs'' is a collection of classic country music brought to life through a narration of fun, educational facts. This interactive show begins with the story of how four country songs came to have the same tune and moves through the birth of Western Swing, the Bakersfield sound, and reflects Patsy Cline’s music as it mirrored her life. Features tributes to veterans and longest married couples in attendance. Show time is 7:30 P.M. Admission Adults $10.00 K-12 $3.00 Group rate for seven or more on one check. For Information and Reservations 806-226-2187

November 8, 2014 -- From Austin, Texas, The Warren Hood Band A TCA Touring Artist Production
Warren Hood was a hit last year at the Gem, and he's graced Austin stages since his teens, gaining notoriety with the South Austin Jug Band and Toni Price. Still a member of San Francisco-based jam-grass quartet the Waybacks, the local fiddler's first solo work is a beauty.''–- Jim Caligiuri, Austin Chronicle. Warren, a master fiddler, will be joined with Emily Gimble and some other oustanding musicians to provide a great evening of entertainment. Show time is 7:30 P.M. Admission Adults $10.00 K-12 $3.00 Group rate for seven or more on one check. For Information and Reservations 806-226-2187.

December 6, 2014 -- Christmas Progam to be announced
At this time, plans have not be formulated for this program.

December 7 thru March 7, 2015 -- King Hill, noted area drama teacher, has agreed to become The Armstrong County Museum's Gem Theatre , Artist in Residence.
Claude, Texas, October 14, 2013. New life for Community Theatre in Claude Texas will be welcomed with the aid of the first official, Artist in Residence, according to the Gem Theatre, Director of Programs, Roy Rutherford. Mr. Hill is a well Known and widely acclaimed for his outstanding productions featuring young people. A producer, event coordinator, educator and most of all, director, Hill is recognized locally for his numerous “Golden Touch Awards” for excellence in the Arts. Most recently Hill conceive and wrote the award winning production, “Lone Star Trilog which was produced by the Lone Star Ballet at the Glove News center for Performing Arts. In 2005 he produced and directed the award winning “Home on the Range Radio Hour” at the Gem Theatre in Claude, Texas. Over the next nine months as Artist in Residence, it will be Mr. Hill's responsibility to write, direct and produce a play to be presented on the stage of the Gem Theatre. As a major outcome of this activity, Community Theatre will be rejuvenated as a major function of the Gem Theatre in Claude, Texas. The first stage show was presented in the Gem on October 15, 1915. Over the years the Gem has been primarily a movie theatre until the Armstrong County Museum purchased the Theatre Building in 1993. In 1995, the Gem had its own Artistic Director, Dr. Carol Manning Hill. As a legacy, Dr. Hill left a highly motivated, but small group, who enjoyed working with community theatre. Local theatre has been under the direction of volunteers, most recently, Mrs. Millie Strawn has stepped forward to direct the annual Christmas show, “The Best Christmas Pageant Ever” on December 7. While the Gem Theatre will continue to be a “Presenting Theatre” for the Texas Commission on the Arts Touring Artists, much effort will be made to include local play productions with local and area talent at the center of all productions.

The restoration of the Charles Goodnight House has been completed and the new Reception Center is now open. Across the road Buffalo Gold is maintaining a small herd of the Original Charles Goodnight Buffalo herd preserved by Charles and Mary Ann Goodnight. The Quanah Parker Arrow is now standing sentinel over the whole estate. There are many things to see and do. Open Tuesday through Saturday from 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

December 9 thru March 9, 2015 -- The Historic Gem Theatre
The historic Gem Theatre opened as a movie theater October 8, 1915. Initially named the Claudia Theatre, it was renamed as the Rialto in the 1920's and it became the Gem Theatre in the 1930's. Since 1997 the Gem Theatre has been a ''Presenting Theatre'' for the Texas Commission on the Arts. This means that Texas Touring Artists from the Commission on the Arts Touring Artists Roster can have fee support when performing at the Gem Theatre in Claude, Texas. The Gem Theatre is a very family friendly theater and we look forward to having you celebrat the 95th year of the Gem Theatre.

December 12 thru March 12, 2015 -- A GREAT EXHIBIT IN THE MUSEUM: THE PALO DURO RANCH
The JA Ranch was the first ranch established in the Palo Duro Canyon. Originally created by the Panhandle Plains Museum, this display is now a permanent display in the Armstrong County Museum. While visiting the museum, you can also see the works of photographer George Williams. Visiting hours are Tuesday through Saturday 12:00 to 4:00 PM. Admission is Free, Donations Welcomed.

Funded in part by: The Texas Commission on the Arts, The Mary E. Bivins Foundation of Amarillo, Texas and The National Endowment for the Arts.

Adults $10.00 · Children $3.00

Call 806-226-2187 for Reservations

Ask about group rates for 10 or more.
(Group rate requires payment by ONE check.)

Unless otherwise indicated, shows begin at 7:30 PM